Mysteries of the Kyiv Orthodox Monasteries
During this tour you will get acquainted with the dramatic history of the places which we will visit and the life of most famous local Saints.
Duration - full day excursion.
Meeting with a guide in the hotel lobby. Transfer to the Excursion.
St. Panteleimon's Convent (Feofania Park)
Feofania is a picturesque area in the southern outskirts of Kiev. There are holy springs, a cascade of lakes and mighty oak groves in the vicinity of the famous Orthodox nunnery. More than a century ago a little monastery farm was founded not far from the suburban residence where the bishop stayed in summer.
St. Panteleymon Cathedral (1905 –1912) – one of the grandest monastery temples in Kiev — is decoration of the Monastery. Magnificent nature, salubrious sources, splendid opportunity of solitude make Feofania so famous. You will have unforgettable impressions after visiting Monastery and its surroundings. The unique St. Panteleymon’s Cathedral was constructed in the traditional Russian style. All visitors are amazed with its elegance and beauty. The story of the St. Panteleymon’s Cathedral is unusual and dramatic.
Golosiivo Protection of Virgin Mary Monastery
This Kiev cloister that was badly damaged at Bolsheviks times has been revived like the Magic Phoenix. It actually got its second wind. Brainchild of Metropolitan Petro Mogila, sown on this bare place by the outstanding church hermit, Goloseevo was famous for the line of hills, thickly overgrown with trees, fruit gardens and tireless monastic exploits of its inhabitants.
Mother Alipia (1910 – 1988) is considered one of the most famous local Saints, was granted by a gift of farseeing. Lots of pilgrims rush to kneel to her relics.
Protection of Virgin Mary Convent
Was founded on January 11, 1889 by the Great Princess Alexandra Petrovna Romanova (in monasticism - Anastasia, † 1900). At the monastery a lot of charitable establishments were created - free hospitals, a shelter, an outpatient clinic and a pharmacy, a church and parish school with a hostel for students.
The cloister was closed in 1925. It was opened in 1942. After the liberation of Kiev from the Nazi occupiers, a hospital was organized on the territory of the monastery, and in 1945 - 1948. here was the infirmary. More monastery was not closed, but was limited, that the number of buildings was reduced from 30 to 7. After the fire of 1981, the Cathedral of St. Nicholas was painted (secretly from the God-fighting authorities, in 1982 - 1983). Only recently the monastery returned part of its former territory. After the overhaul, the Church of the Intercession was painted and opened (in 1999).
Kitayevo Holy Trinity Monastery
Kitayevo is not only mysterious, but it is also a wonderful place to visit! You will hear about the exploits of the Kitayevo monks as well as about the architectural styles of the local churches.
In ancient times a cave maze was made there and at the present the cave maze is available for inspection too!
Monastic life was led in local caves from 11th to 12th centuries when a secluded monastery, monks lived in the cave maze from the 11th century till the 17th century. Belonging to Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, existed in this area on the old fortified hill near the lake. Later entrances to the caves were lost, up to 1857, when they were found again by a novice of the above-ground monastery. Reverent Dosifey lived there. Dosifey was venerated as a male hermit, but actually Dosifey was a woman. A unique hermit Feofil also lived in Kitayevo in the 18th century, well known as a «holy fool» & farseeing gifted.
Necklace of handmade lakes, landscape of this territory are a pleasure to the eye. The very atmosphere of the cloister gives calmness and peace of mind
Flor’s Ascension Convent (16th century)
Originated in the 16th century. Located in the old descent of the city – Podil, its buildings occupy the slopes of the Zamkova Hora.The main church, or katholikon, is a notable example of Ukrainian Baroque architecture. Its first stone was laid in 1722. Ten years later, the three-domed building was dedicated to the feast of the Ascension of Christ. Its Neoclassicalbell-tower is of later construction.
The convent's notable residents included Princess Natalia Dolgorukova, one of the first Russian women writers. It was closed in 1929 but reopened after the Germans entered the city in 1941.
Holy Trinity and St. Jonah's Monastery (Botanical Garden)
The monastery is located in one of the most beautiful spots of Kyiv – the National Botanical Garden M.M. Gryshko.
It was Jonas, a Vydubychi hegumen, who founded this monastery in 1864. The monastery's bell tower, at 110 meters, was to be the tallest in the Orthodox world. Its construction was halted due to the outbreak of World War I. As many as 800 monks resided there at the time. The monks of the recently revived monastery now help to restore the nearby Zverinets caves.
Zverinetsky St. Michael the Archangel's Monastery (Caves of XI-XII century)
N.B.: Please, note that according to the rules of Orthodox Monasteries, during the visit women should wear long skirts and have something to cover their head (hat or a scarf). A man should wear trousers (but not shorts).
Price – for the request.